Melvine Thogo Wangari, the 2nd Female UNSA Chairperson sworn in

Melvine Thogo Wangari, has been announced and sworn in as the new Incoming chair of the University of Nairobi Students Association 2022.

Melvine Thogo Wangari, the 2nd Female UNSA Chairperson sworn in

Melvine Thogo Wangari, has been announced and sworn in as the new Incoming chair of the University of Nairobi Students Association 2022.

This was revealed on Saturday, March 26, 2022 at UoN’s Taifa Hall after the 39 electors from faculties and campuses elected team Melvine with a win of 24 votes.

Melvine Thogo,  a 3rd year Law student is the 2nd female Chairperson heading the students association and the first after the UNSA constitution has been amended.

Team Melvine constituted of a male Vice-Chair, Mr. Vincent Wiso, Secretary General Vincent Nyakwachi, Treasurer, Valentine Mwende, Sports representative, Maryl Aluodo, International representative, Monica Malith and Andrew Mbiti, A Persons with Disability representative.

In accordance to the amended UNSA Constitution; the team observed the 2/3 gender rule, the students are taking different courses and they are from different ethnicities. 

All the students that ran for  leadership positions had to have received academic clearance from their Faculty Deans and each team had to have an International and PWD representative. 

During the swearing in ceremony, the IEC 2022 chair, Prof. Collins Odote gave a summary of the whole electoral process; how the teams started at 136 and ended up at 18. He remarked on the challenges that the commission faced and thanked the management and the student community for the support that they accorded the commission throughout the election timelines.

In her speech after taking oath of office, the elated Thogo said she was thankful to God for giving them the strength of not giving up.

She said the win was as a result of stubborn determination, consistency and raw hard work and thanked the delegates and the broader faculty representatives who listened to their manifesto and voted for her team.

“I am truly elated to stand before you as the new president of UNSA. It is a remarkable fete to join a remarkable list of past student leaders who were in these shoes, some of whom I have drawn inspiration to dare this dream. I thank the electoral commission for delivering the election in a free fair and just manner,” Thogo said.

She promised to work with the University administration to deliver her team’s manifesto to UoN students.

In his remarks, the VC Prof. Kiama congratulated the winning teams on emerging victors in the students elections and wished them the best in their tenure.

He urged the student leaders to always be able to engage the university administration on anything that they need to be improved and always think about the value of the University.

“As student leaders, you need to be involved in the various activities in the University. Engage us. Let us raise the value and status of the University of Nairobi together. Let us not engage in anything that will downgrade the status of the University,” Prof. Kiama said.

Prof. Kiama also congratulated the University of Nairobi Students Association Electoral Council led by Prof. Collins Odote for making the elections a success.

“It is quite an achievement that we can now vote electronically. This is a great achievement,” Prof. Kiama said.

His remarks were echoed by Deputy Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs Prof. Julius Ogeng’o.

He said he was happy the university had moved on and could conduct elections electronically, this being the 2nd UNSA elections to be conducted online.

While congratulating the new student leaders, the Dean of Students Mr. Johnson Kinyua, noted that this is the third student of Law that has been an UNSA leader, 'The Faculty of Law has given us the past three UNSA leaders, starting with Anne Mvurya, Eddie Mwendwa and now Melvine Thogo. 


Below is the full list of 2022 student council election winners and winning teams from the faculties and campuses.

The Faculty and Campus students association teams are :-

Faculty of Agriculture- Team Captain

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences- Team Integrity

Faculty of Built Environment- Team Alpha

Faculty of Business and Management Science- Team Ojwando

Faculty of Education- Team Bidii

Faculty of Engineering – Team Soi

Health Sciences- Team Gonda

Faculty of Law- The Anchor Alliance

Faculty of Science and Technology- Team Liyosi Senior

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine- Team Eduh

Kenya Science Campus- Legit Alliance

Kisumu Campus- Team Humphrey K

Mombasa Campus- Supreme Tide Alliance